
PN EQUIVALENCY INFORMATION AND INSTRUCTIONS

QUALIFICATIONS
RN Educati on Program - Parti al Completi on Applicants

1. A candidate must have successfully completed coursework in an RN educati on program approved by the Arkansas State Board of Nursing,   
 or a similar Board in another state.  Courses in external degree programs are not acceptable for PN equivalency (e.g., Excelsior External   
 Degree Program).
2. Coursework must include academic courses, including a clinical component, in Medical-Surgical Nursing, Maternity Nursing, Mental Health  
 Nursing, and Pediatric Nursing; general educati on courses in Anatomy and Physiology; and course content in Growth and Development,   
 Pharmacology and Nutriti on.  All courses uti lized for equivalent credit must be completed with a minimum grade of  “C” refl ected on the   
 offi  cial transcript.  Medical-Surgical Nursing must include content related to major body systems in non-complex conditi ons.

  3. Candidates must apply within two years from date of completi on of last nursing course.
 4. Have an offi  cial transcript sent directly from the college or university where you att end/att ended the RN educati on program to the  
  Arkansas State Board of Nursing offi  ce.  
 5. If you att ended a college or university outside of Arkansas, in additi on to the transcript, you must send a copy of the syllabus from each   
  nursing course completed that contains content in medical-surgical nursing, maternity nursing, pediatric nursing, pharmacology, nutriti on,  
  growth and development, and mental health concepts.

NCLEX-RN Failure Applicants
 1. A candidate must have failed the NCLEX-RN exam.  Offi  cial results must be submitt ed with the applicati on.
 2. If you had a criminal background check more than 12 months ago, it must be repeated.

Licensed Psychiatric Technician Nurse (LPTN) Applicants
 1.   A candidate must have graduated from an Arkansas Board-approved LPTN program aft er March 18, 1980.
 2. An offi  cial transcript must be provided to the Board offi  ce.

APPLICATION PROCESS
ASBN Applicati on
 1. Use blue or black ink or type to complete the applicati on.  NOTE:  A street address must be provided.
 2. The fee is $75.  Personal checks are accepted from in-state applicants only.  FEES ARE NONREFUNDABLE.

Applicati on for Criminal Background Checks
Arkansas law requires applicants for licensure by examinati on to submit to criminal background checks.  If an applicant has pleaded guilty or nolo 
contendere to any off ense listed in ACA  § 17-87-312, he/she is not eligible for Arkansas licensure.  (ACA  § 17-87-312 provides opportunity to request 
a waiver of eligibility criteria related to a criminal background in certain circumstances.)

Criminal background checks shall be completed no earlier than twelve (12) months prior to the applicati on for licensure by examinati on.  If criminal 
background checks are older than twelve (12) months, they must be repeated.

Submit a Criminal Background Check applicati on, fi ngerprint card and appropriate fee to the Arkansas State Board of Nursing.  THE CRIMINAL BACK-
GROUND CHECK MAY TAKE 1-2 MONTHS TO BE PROCESSED.

NCLEX Candidate Bulleti n and Applicati on
The NCLEX candidate bulleti n can be found as a PDF fi le at www.pearsonvue.com/nclex.  Please read it carefully and follow directi ons precisely.  The 
registrati on fee is $200.  Program codes are as follows:  NCLEX-RN Exam failure, 39-999; RN educati on program - parti al completi on, 39-997; LPTN, 39-998 

Your applicati on cannot be processed unti l you register with Pearson Vue.  Pearson Vue will send you informati on for scheduling your test session.  
Candidates making errors in the TYPE OF EXAMINATION or STATE OF LICENSURE fi elds will be charged a $50 fee by the testi ng service to correct that 
informati on.  Aft er your Board of Nursing has made you eligible to test you cannot request a jurisdicti on or test type change.

The initi al license is provided free of charge.  The ASBN renews licenses on a staggered biennial birth date system.  Your fi rst license may be valid 
from 91 days to two years depending upon your birthdate.

Conti nuing educati on is required for license renewal.  If an initi al license is valid for less than two (2) years, you will not be required to meet the con-
ti nuing educati on requirements for their fi rst renewal.  For all subsequent renewals you will need to meet the conti nuing educati on requirements.  
More informati on can be obtained on the ASBN Web site.
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• Candidates may not be eligible for licensure in other states under this equivalency provision.
•  Candidates will be required to successfully complete the Board-approved course PN Scope of Practi ce and Behaviors.  The course fee is $60.00   
 and found at the Web site - www.educati oncenterarna.org. The comprehensive exam must be passed with  a score of 80 percent or higher.       
 Submit certi fi cate of completi on to the Board offi  ce to the att enti on of the educati on department.
•  There are some Arkansas programs who are not eligible to parti cipate - please check with your school.

Arkansas State Board of Nursing
University Tower Building
1123 South University Avenue, Suite 800
Litt le Rock, Arkansas  72204

PHONE 501.686.2700
FAX 501.686.2714

www.arsbn.org



                                        STREET                                               CITY                                                    STATE                           ZIP  

Name & Phone Number of Nearest Relative

ETHNIC INFORMATION (check one):              African American      Asian Indian     Asian Other       Hispanic                          
                                              Native American          Pacific Islander       White, not of Hispanic origin         Other

	

School attended 

School Address

Program Entry:  Month		           Year		           Program Completion:  Month		            Year

Do you hold an LPTN license?                                                                  If yes, state of licensure    

What is your primary state of residence?

Have you ever been convicted of a misdemeanor or felony, pled guilty or nolo contendere to any charge in any state or jurisdiction?     	
DWIs and similar offenses must be reported.  (Traffic violations do not constitute a crime)		  YES        NO  
(If yes, include a certified copy of the court docket, plea agreement, or conviction papers, and evidence that fines, restitution are paid.)  

Have you ever had any license, certificate, registration, or the privilege to practice disciplined (revoked, suspended, placed on proba-
tion or reprimanded) or voluntarily surrendered in any state or jurisdiction?     			   YES              NO          
(If yes, include copy of Facts and Finding from Board and evidence of reinstatement of license)

Are you currently under investigation in any state or jurisdiction?          YES                  NO

Do you currently engage in drug-related behavior, including the use of mood-altering drugs/substances and/or alcohol that would 
affect your functional abilities to perform while working as a nurse?      				   YES                NO

In the last two years, have you been the subject of a chemical or alcohol dependency intervention or participated in chemical or 
alcohol dependency treatment/rehabilitation?        						      YES                NO         
(If yes, submit all relevant documents, such as rehab program completion, support group meetings, drug screens, etc.)

(over)

PRACTICAL NURSE EQUIVALENCY 
EXAMINATION APPLICATION

ARKANSAS STATE BOARD OF NURSING
UNIVERSITY TOWER BUILDING
1123 SOUTH UNIVERSITY, SUITE 800
LITTLE ROCK, ARKANSAS  72204
501.686.2700   •     501.686.2714 fax     •     www.arsbn.org 

FALSIFICATION OF THIS FORM IS GROUNDS FOR DISCIPLINARY ACTION AGAINST YOUR LICENSE.
FOR OFFICE USE ONLY

Social Security Number				                          Telephone number (             )

Full Name

Physical Address                                                                                                                                        Gender                  Male                    Female
         
Mailing address                                                                                                                                   E-mail

Date of Birth 						           Place of Birth

                (MISS, MS., MRS., OR MR)          FIRST                              MIDDLE                                   MAIDEN                                   LAST  

                            STREET/P.O.BOX                             CITY                                        STATE                                       ZIP  

NAME OF NURSING SCHOOL

                               CITY                                                              STATE                                              

FOR OFFICE USE ONLY

AR CERT. NO.

DATE

CBC (S)

        (F) 01-0019



					   
AFFIDAVIT

State of 

County of 

I,                                                                , being duly sworn, state that I am the person who is referred to in the foregoing application for 
licensure in the State of Arkansas; that the statements herein contained are true in every respect; that I have complied with all re-
quirements of the law; and that I have read and understand this affidavit.  I hereby give my consent for the Arkansas State Police  and 
the FBI to release the criminal background checks results to the Arkansas State Board of Nursing.  I understand that if the processing 
of this application is not completed, the application becomes null and void one year from date received.  I also understand that 
falsification of this form is grounds for discipline against my license.  

Sworn to before me this              day of                         , 20
My Commission Expires

 

IMPORTANT:  Incomplete applications, including transcripts and failed examination files will be deleted and discarded when there 
has been no action in the file (i.e. correspondence from applicant, retake of exam, etc.) for seven (7) years.

APPLICANT’S SIGNATURE

Notary Public
AFFIX

NOTARY SEAL
HERE

SIGNATURE
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METHOD OF PAYMENT

	     In-state personal check

	      Money order/cashiers check

	      Credit card  

FEE IS NONREFUNDABLE

PN Equivalency Examination License Fee       $75.00

CREDIT CARD INFORMATION
Complete below if paying by credit card.  There is a nominal processing fee 
(listed below) assessed with paying your fees by credit card.  The Arkansas 
State Board of Nursing does not receive any portion of the processing fee.  

Type of card            Visa             MasterCard            Discover 

Cardholder’s Name

Cardholder’s billing address

Credit Card #

Expiration date                  /                                  Amount Paid                  
Signature 
*Processing fee - PN Equivalency Examination Application - $2.25;

mm           yyyy



FBI and ARKANSAS CRIMINAL BACKGROUND CHECKS INSTRUCTIONS

Complete your applications in the following manner:
1.	 ARKANSAS STATE POLICE CRIMINAL BACKGROUND CHECK FORM
	 a.	 Complete the Arkansas State Police Criminal Background Check Form.  Every question MUST be answered 		
		  or the form will be returned to you.
	 b.	 The name on your Criminal Background Check Form MUST be your legal name.
	 c.	 You must have a social security number.  If you do not have one, contact the Board of Nursing 			 
		  (501.686.2709) for further instructions.  Do not leave this blank.
	 d.	 THE ARKANSAS STATE POLICE CRIMINAL BACKGROUND CHECK FORM MUST BE NOTARIZED.

2.	 FBI FINGERPRINT CARD (You MUST use the card provided by ASBN)
	 a.	 Complete the following boxes on the card (type or print, black ink only)

•	 Last name, first name, middle name
•	 Signature of person fingerprinted
•	 Aliases (other names you have used, including nicknames, maiden name, other married names, etc.)
•	 ORI (this block should read:  AR920430Z State Board of Nursing, Little Rock, AR)
•	 Date of birth (numeric month, numeric day, numeric  year)
•	 Residence of person fingerprinted (street address or post office box, city, state, zip)
•	 Citizenship (i.e., United States, England, Philippines)
•	 Sex, race, height, weight, eyes (color), hair (color)
	 Sex:   M=Male; F=Female
	 Race:  A=Asian; W=White; B=Black; I=American Indian; U=Unknown; (If Hispanic use “W”)
	 Eyes:  BLU=Blue; BRO=Brown; BLK=Black; GRY=Gray; GRN=Green; HAZ=Hazel; MAR=Maroon; PNK=Pink; 

XXX=Unknown
	 Hair:  BAL=Bald; BRO=Brown; SDY=Sandy; BLK=Black; GRY=Gray; WHI=White; BLN=Blond; RED=Red; 

XXX=Unknown
•	 Place of birth (city, state, or foreign country)
•	 Employer and address (“none” if you are unemployed)
•	 Reason fingerprinted - write in:  AR State Board of Nursing - ACA §17-87-312
•	 Social Security number
•	 Leave all other spaces blank (OCA, FBI, MNU, MNU)

	 b.	 Have fingerprints done by properly trained personnel. Your local police or sheriff’s department may be willing 	
		  to accommodate you. There may be a fee involved.  The Arkansas State Police ID Bureau in Little Rock on 		
		  Geyer Springs Road at I-30 will collect your fingerprints without charge Monday - Friday, 8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.

		  If an individual is missing one or more fingers, a notation in the fingerprint block(s) indicating why a partial or 	
		  missing image exists must be written in.  Handwritten notations recommended for fingerprint submissions 	
		  include:  Amp (amputated), Ti--Amp (tip amputated), Missing at Birth, Cut-off, Shot-off, Deformed and 		
		  Missing.

	 	 Common errors that will delay the processing of your FBI criminal background check are incomplete FBI 		
		  fingerprint card and poor quality of fingerprints.  DO NOT BEND OR FOLD THE FBI FINGERPRINT CARD.

3.	 Submit to ASBN:
	 a.	 One cashier’s  check or money order, payable to ASBN, for $38.50
	 b.	 Arkansas State Police Criminal Background Check Form (notarized)
	 c.	 FBI Fingerprint Card

	 DO NOT, UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES, CONTACT THE ARKANSAS STATE POLICE OR THE FBI ABOUT THE      		
	 STATUS OF YOUR CRIMINAL BACKGROUND CHECKS.

Use these instructions if you are:  an out-of-state graduate, rewrite applicant, internationally educated, advanced practice applicant 
or endorsing into Arkansas.  IF YOU ARE ENROLLED IN AN ARKANSAS NURSING EDUCATIONAL PROGRAM YOU MUST SUBMIT YOUR 
BACKGROUND CHECKS THROUGH YOUR NURSING PROGRAM.  DO NOT FOLLOW THESE DIRECTIONS.

Submit to the Board of Nursing, one cashier’s check or money order for $38.50 made payable to the Arkansas State Board of Nursing, 
along with the completed Arkansas State Police form and fingerprint card.  FEES ARE NONREFUNDABLE.

ARKANSAS STATE BOARD OF NURSING
University Tower Building
1123 South University Avenue, Suite 800
Little Rock, Arkansas  72204

     PHONE 501.686.2700
FAX  501.686.2714

www.arsbn.org
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ARKANSAS STATE BOARD OF NURSING
UNIVERSITY TOWER BUILDING
1123 SOUTH UNIVERSITY, SUITE 800
LITTLE ROCK, ARKANSAS  72204
501.686.2700   •     501.686.2714 fax     •     www.arsbn.org 

FALSIFICATION OF THIS FORM IS GROUNDS FOR DISCIPLINARY ACTION AGAINST YOUR LICENSE.
FOR OFFICE USE ONLY

ARKANSAS STATE POLICE CRIMINAL 
BACKGROUND CHECK FORM

82005	  										                  80006         80005		

Please type or print clearly.
	 	 	 	
	 	 	 	 	
NAME:  LAST                  FIRST                      MIDDLE                             MAIDEN                  

DAYTIME PHONE NUMBER

OTHER NAMES YOU HAVE USED RACE SEX SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER

DATE OF BIRTH PLACE OF BIRTH (STATE) DRIVER’S LICENSE # STATE OF ISSUE

MAILING ADDRESS                                                          CITY                                           STATE/COUNTRY                                      ZIP CODE        

I, The undersigned, hereby give my consent for the Arkansas State Police to conduct the required criminal record 
checks on myself and release any results to the Arkansas State Board of Nursing.

SIGNATURE OF APPLICANT DATE

EYE COLOR HAIR COLOR HEIGHT WEIGHT E-MAIL ADDRESS

       RETURN THIS FORM, FINGERPRINT CARD AND A CASHIER’S CHECK OR MONEY ORDER (no personal checks) 		
        FOR $38.50 PAYABLE TO ASBN TO:
	  Arkansas State Board of Nursing, 1123 S. University Avenue, #800, Little Rock, AR  72204
	 Fees are nonrefundable

SIGNATURE
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YOU MUST HAVE THIS FORM NOTARIZED.

State of

County of

Sworn to before me this                day of                                        20          
My Commission Expires

                        NOTARY SEAL										           
 Notary Public






